Minimum Wage by State 2026
Every state, highest first, as of July 1, 2026.
| State | Per hour | Good to know |
|---|---|---|
| District of Columbia | $18.40 | |
| Washington | $17.13 | |
| New York | $17.00 | For New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties. The rest of the state is $16.00. |
| Connecticut | $16.94 | |
| California | $16.90 | |
| Hawaii | $16.00 | |
| Rhode Island | $16.00 | |
| New Jersey | $15.92 | |
| Oregon | $15.55 | The standard rate. Portland Metro is $16.80 and non-urban counties are $14.55. |
| Colorado | $15.16 | |
| Arizona | $15.15 | |
| Maine | $15.10 | |
| Delaware | $15.00 | |
| Illinois | $15.00 | |
| Maryland | $15.00 | |
| Massachusetts | $15.00 | |
| Missouri | $15.00 | |
| Nebraska | $15.00 | For employers with 4 or more employees. |
| Vermont | $14.42 | For employers with 2 or more employees. |
| Alaska | $14.00 | |
| Florida | $14.00 | |
| Michigan | $13.73 | |
| Virginia | $12.77 | |
| Nevada | $12.00 | |
| New Mexico | $12.00 | |
| South Dakota | $11.85 | |
| Minnesota | $11.41 | |
| Arkansas | $11.00 | For employers with 4 or more employees. |
| Ohio | $11.00 | For businesses with gross receipts of $405,000 or more. Smaller businesses pay $7.25. |
| Montana | $10.85 | For businesses with yearly sales over $110,000. Smaller businesses not covered by federal law pay $4.00. |
| West Virginia | $8.75 | For employers with 6 or more employees at one location. |
| Alabama | $7.25 | No state minimum wage law. The federal $7.25 applies to employers covered by federal law. |
| Georgia | $7.25 | The state rate is $5.15 for employers with 6 or more employees. Employers covered by federal law pay $7.25. |
| Idaho | $7.25 | |
| Indiana | $7.25 | |
| Iowa | $7.25 | |
| Kansas | $7.25 | |
| Kentucky | $7.25 | |
| Louisiana | $7.25 | No state minimum wage law. The federal $7.25 applies to employers covered by federal law. |
| Mississippi | $7.25 | No state minimum wage law. The federal $7.25 applies to employers covered by federal law. |
| New Hampshire | $7.25 | |
| North Carolina | $7.25 | |
| North Dakota | $7.25 | |
| Oklahoma | $7.25 | For employers with 10 or more full-time employees at one location or sales over $100,000. Others pay $2.00. |
| Pennsylvania | $7.25 | |
| South Carolina | $7.25 | No state minimum wage law. The federal $7.25 applies to employers covered by federal law. |
| Tennessee | $7.25 | No state minimum wage law. The federal $7.25 applies to employers covered by federal law. |
| Texas | $7.25 | |
| Utah | $7.25 | |
| Wisconsin | $7.25 | |
| Wyoming | $7.25 | The state rate is $5.15. Employers covered by federal law pay $7.25. |
Source: U.S. Department of Labor. Some cities and counties set higher rates.